The Red Lake Police Department is under the supervision of Public Safety Director William Brunelle, and is responsible for enforcing all ordinances contained within the Tribal Code. Ordinances are established by the Tribal Council for the safety and well being of all members.

The department’s jurisdiction extends to all boundaries, and includes the Northwest Angle as well.

The primary goal of the department is the protection of all residents of the reservation. In addition to law enforcement activities, the department all provides other services, including:

  • School liaison officer for the Red Lake School District.
  • DARE Officer to teach students to raise drug awareness and prevention techniques.
  • Traffic safety officer to enhance public safety on Tribal roads.
  • Security officers at the Red Lake Hospital.

The Conservation Department operates within the Police Department, and is responsible for enforcing all fish and game ordinances, as well as water safety ordinances.

The Police Department is located in the Criminal Justice Center.

Red Lake Law Enforcement Services

Red Lake’s budgeted sworn force of 38 and additional staff facilitate 24-hour dispatching and law enforcement response, 24 hour patrol, criminal investigations, traffic safety, game and fishing code enforcement, sexual offender compliance, crime victim services and community policing. Law Enforcement is responsible for covering 840,000 acres of Federal Indian Trust land, or 1,259 square miles.

Law Enforcement Divisions

  • General Crime Investigations
  • Narcotics & Gang Investigations
  • Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence Investigations
  • Human & Sexual Trafficking
  • Child Crime Investigations
  • Patrol
  • Conservation Enforcement
  • 24 Dispatching Services
  • Sexual Offender Monitoring & Compliance
  • Crime Victim Services & Advocacy
  • Game & Fish licensing
  • Hand Gun Permit
  • Community Policing Initiatives

Specialized Law Enforcement Services

  • Search & Rescue Team
  • Dive Team
  • Emergency Response Tactical Team
  • Drug Task Force Team

Contact Information

Red Lake Police Department
Hwy. 1 East
Red Lake, MN 56671

Fax: 218-679-1850

William Brunelle

Dana Lyons Jr.
Patrol Captain

Alexandra Dow

Nicole Spears
Executive Secretary

Athena Bugg
Executive Secretary

Star Kingbird
Administrative Secretary

Kendall Kingbird

Daniel Lasley

William Branchaud

Justin Nelson

Dominic Hamre

Corben House

Garrett Dietman

Joe Heyer

Harold Graves Jr.

Victoria Conner

Alea Richards

Stephen Dow

Aaron Stillday

Christopher Sumner

Jesse Branch

Shane Canady

Patrick Graves

Tyson Nelson

Ryan Kingbird

Paul Smith

James Cloud Jr.

Vincent Staples-Graves

Stephen Dow

Patrick Bendal

Jamis Veit


Leah Kingbird
Project manager

Ashley Johnson
Office Assistant

Collin Brunelle

Jonathan Richards
General Crime-Lead

Geoff Pierre
General Crimes

Ron Leyba
General Crimes

Matt Smith
DV/SA/Human Trafficking

Paul Kwako
Child Crimes (FCS)

Bernadette Raincloud

Maria Spears-Lead

Michelle Johnson

Rachel Nelson

Marisha Johnson

Arlene Red Eagle

Samantha Dow

Lupe' Ybarra
Funded by CTAS

Pat Pierre

Muriel Dudley
Program Manager

Jennifer Hummerding
DV/SA advocate

Stephanie Cobenais
General Advocate